Declaring Our Independence

 Today we celebrate our declaration of  independence, which freed us from English government, but also  inadvertently led to a break with the Church of England (“Ecclesia Anglicana”). Because Church  of England clergy were required to swear allegiance to the British monarch, and the clergy in America were not willing to do so, the Episcopal Church was formed. It became the first of many “Anglican Provinces” outside the British Isles, which eventually formed the Worldwide Anglican Communion.
With approximately 80 million members around the globe, the Anglican Communion is the third largest Christian Church in the world, after the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox Churches
Some churches in the Anglican Communion are known as “Anglican,” such as the Anglican Church of Canada.  Others, like our church and the Scottish church, use the name “Episcopal,” which literally means “having bishops.” Regardless of their name, all of the churches  in the Worldwide Anglican Communion are in full communion with the Church of England and specifically with its principal primate, the Archbishop of Canterbury.
Happy Independence Day!  Mother Candace+ 

Leave a Reply

Like St. Paul's on Facebook